Reading:
Managing access and users in SafeShare

Managing access and users in SafeShare

June 24, 2021

One of the great advantages of SafeShare is the ability to add and remove users as you need.
With our user management controls, you can set a user up and then easily remove them at any given time. They could be a user for a day… or indefinitely.
The timeframe is entirely up to you.

There are two ways in which you can add a new user to your organisation.

The first way – is to select the file you want to share with them, and input their details here like you would with any of your current users.
When you click ‘share’ the new user will receive an email invite to your organization and instructions on how to access the file you are sharing. It’s important to note, that with this method, the user will only be invited to join as a collaborator.
If the user does not click on the invite link, then they will remain what we call ‘adhoc user’s.’ Adhoc users are accounts that have not been activated. Adhoc users are not considered collaborators of your organisation unless they activate their account.

The second way in which you can add users is through your organization’s admin portal. The admin portal offers greater management controls; such as setting users up as originators, managing their account in other ways or removing their account entirely.

To access the admin portal you will need to have administrator permissions. Which I will show you how to set up shortly.

Once in the admin portal, click on users. Here you will be able to see all users that are a part of, or affiliated to your organization.

To add a user simply click ‘add new’. Enter the user’s email address. Then select the role you want this user to have.

No role means – this user is considered an ‘Adhoc user.’ As mentioned earlier, Adhoc users are accounts that have not been activated.
By selecting ‘no role’ you’re inviting this user to become a collaborator without actually giving them collaborator accessibility until they physically accept the invite. When they do so and their account is set up, the user will officially become a collaborator.

Collaborators are able to work with the originator’s files and folders. There are restrictions though, on what they can do themselves within SafeShare. Collaborators do not receive their own storage allocation, meaning they would be using the Originator’s storage plan.

Originators have their own storage plan. Which is why if we select this role.. We’re able to allocate how much storage we want this user to have. Originators have the most comprehensive access to SafeShare’s features.

In addition to these roles, you can select if you want this user to be an administrator for your organization. By clicking the admin box you’re allowing the user to access your admin portal, where they can change organisation settings like user management, classifications, whitelists and so on. You can have as many administrators as you like. It is important to give this authority to users you trust to act on behalf of your organisation.

We click save and the new user will appear.

Now to remove a user is just as easy. Simply click the box alongside the user you want to remove. Then click the bin icon. If the user you’re deleting does not own any files in SafeShare, this pop up will appear asking for your confirmation of removal.
If the user does own files in SafeShare, you will be asked if you want to a) delete their files, or b) transfer the ownership of their files to another user. If you select ‘b’ you can choose from the list of originators shown to complete the file transfer of ownership.

The user is now successfully removed from SafeShare and is no longer able to access files you or anyone in your organisation has shared with them.

Did you find this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Still have questions? Get in touch with Cocoon Data Support

Related Stories

Arrow-up